Retake Education

Help Save Our Educational System

Profanity Ban Suspended in Honor of Samantha Hillstrom, CNN

I’ve pretty much decided that I don’t have the time to continue posting on here regularly, if at all, between work and school, so from now on posts will be sporadic at best, and this space will be used primarily as a forum for my own personal venting (which doesn’t really change anything…).

So between that, and the subject line, consider yourself warned. What follows will not be pretty, in any sense of the word. There will be much strong profanity. Seriously.

Mom, if you’re reading, stop now. Everyone else read on, if you want.

Yesterday, Kate at smalldeadanimals linked to a rant from Captain Capitalism, stemming from a post on Anderson Cooper’s blog (with the awesomely hip name of “AC360,” but with a degree sign after the 360, which I’m not going to waste time figuring out how to reproduce here – trust me, the blog name is insanely hip and edgy. Just like Anderson Cooper.).

Anyway – the post is from “Samantha Hillstrom, CNN Production Assistant.” And I have this to say to her:

Fuck you Samantha Hillstrom. Fuck you and your lazy, stupid, spoiled ass.

Samantha spends the length of her post whining about how she has a mountain of student loans to pay back ($115,000, apparently) and based on the terms of her loan, 12 years to pay it back. And she’s complaining that her monthly payment of $1200 isn’t affordable. And then she follows that up with: “And let’s just say my lifelong dream career in television doesn’t lend itself to that.”

“Some might say, “Sam, you shouldn’t have gone to a private school in New York City if you wouldn’t be able to pay it off.” Well, I made a lot of mistakes when signing up for my loans, but I was uneducated on the process and on the repayment and now I’m stuck. I share the same anxiety as the families struggling to pay their mortgages. How was I ever to expect the financial crisis that was going to happen and where can I get some help?”

Fuck you Samantha Hillstrom. You’re goddamn right you shouldn’t have gone to a private school in New York City if you wouldn’t be able to pay it off, you stupid ass. You were “undereducated on the process?” You didn’t realize that you weren’t just going to be handed $115,000 and not be expected to return it within 15 years?! If you couldn’t understand that, maybe you shouldn’t have been going to college, you dumb shit. Sounds like high school is about as far as you should have gone.

“According to the Federal Education Department, in 2009, the amount of outstanding federal student loans is $544 billion, up $42 billion from last year. Where is our bailout? Where are our options? The default rate on student loans this year is already at 6.9%. That’s a 13% increase from last year.”

Your options? You’re options are to suck it up and stop whining and make some serious sacrifices in your life like millions of other Americans do every single fucking day. Your options are to move to a cheaper apartment, to stop eating out, to sell your possessions, to stop going out at night, ever, to stop taking vacations, to subsist on Ramen noodles. These are your options. You want a fucking bailout? Go to hell, Samantha Hillstrom. Go join the military. They’ve got great college payment options for you. Or work your ass off and get a higher-paying job. Screw your dream of a “career in television.”

This is the direct result of a generation of lazy parents telling their kids that they could “grow up to be whatever they wanted.” Guess what? It’s a fucking lie. Just because you want to grow up to be a baseball player, odds are it ain’t gonna happen. When I was five, I wanted to grow up to be a fucking crab living in the Baltimore Aquarium. Didn’t happen. Just because you want something to happen, doesn’t make it a right. The world needs ditch diggers too.

Samantha Hillstrom, this is a direct question: What do you think should be told all those people who have made sacrifices their whole lives to be able to pay off the debts that they accrued, on time. What are you telling my mother and father, who worked their asses off for about forty years so that my siblings and I could go to college? What are you telling me? I worked my ass off during college to pay my way through the last three years. What are you telling the millions of Americans who have given years of their lives, or their actual lives, to serve in our military in order to pay for college? Let me answer this. You’re telling them: Fuck you. Fuck you and your sacrifices. I want to work in television. And I don’t want to have to pay for it.

Well fuck you Samantha Hillstrom. Fuck you and the Rev. Jesse Jackson.

“I chose to go to a private school and I chose to work in a field where the starting salaries are low. Does that mean that I chose to live a life of struggle, wondering how I am going to pay my rent, afford the basics of living and still stay in my chosen career field…all while putting up with high interest rates and an amount of debt that brings me to tears?”

Yes, you stupid fucking ass, that’s exactly what it means. Grow the fuck up.

UPDATE: This has been commented on at length elsewhere, one of my favorite non-profane replies comes from sassybug at A Few Degrees Short of a Right Angle: I’m Fired Up!

“If you want people to pay you for getting educated, get scholarships, internships… I think it is great that more and more people are getting educated but we live in the real world where everything costs something and no one gives you anything for free, they all want to be paid back. If you wanted Uncle Sam to pay for your school then you should have served in the armed forces and he would have been happy to pay for your schooling (not all because you aren’t FORCED to go to a private richy-rich school).”

Check it out, it’s a much much gentler than mine. Maybe I shouldn’t be a teacher. Having said that, most elementary school children have a better sense of personal responsibility and understanding of the idea of “free will” and “consequences” than Samantha Hillstrom does.

UPDATE 2: Oh, but if you did, for some reason, appreciate the more cathartic tone of my rant, feel free to check out its related, earlier little brother, here.

UPDATE 3: Another nice response from Kevin Hughes at Plodding Insight, again, much more SFW (and children) then mine.

“In certain dark moments I feel despair about the direction our country is taking. If this idiotic sense of entitlement keeps up, our politicians (who fall all over themselves to please the crowd even if it means destroying the country) are going have to raise quite a bit of money to give these people what they feel they deserve.”

Amen, Kevin. Read the rest here.

04/03/2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. I don’t understand how angry you can be at this girl…. specially when you are asking for donations on your blog to finance your education…

    Comment by Sarah | 04/03/2009 | Reply

    • Hi Sarah, thanks for commenting –

      I can be angry at this girl because she made the choice to get a ridiculously expensive education while financing it with loans in order to pursue a career choice that she acknowledges will almost certainly never afford her a salary that would allow her to pay for said education. She made this choice entirely of her own free will. And now she wants to be released from the obligations that she agreed to, to pay back that loan in a more than reasonable amount of time.

      She made a terrible, selfish decision (like many home buyers and people with enormous credit card debt) and now she’s crying for a bailout. Is she going to delete that education from her resume? Is she going to quit the job that that education has afforded her and thereby open it up to someone who has paid off their education? Of course not. So why should she be relieved of her agreed-upon obligation to pay for the education? Samantha (presumably) received a great education for that price, not to mention room and board in one of the most expensive cities in the world. She made that choice, and she has, and will continue to benefit from it. I could have made such a choice, but I couldn’t afford it, so I didn’t. I went to a state school and paid it off as I went. I lived in cheap housing and ate cheap food and drank cheap beer and worked my ass off at nights.

      She has plenty of options for paying down that debt, including joining the military, leaving her dream career to pursue something higher-paying, moving back in with her parents or making lifestyle sacrifices, but instead she wants taxpayers, via the government, to bail her out. Why the hell should we? Why should I? Why should my parents? Because she’s worried about her debt? We’ve all got problems, but Samantha’s are of her own making, she should have to take responsibility for them.

      As for your comparison between what she’s begging for and what I am – I don’t think I should have to explain the difference between asking for voluntary donations from people who read my blog, and Samantha asking the government to force taxpayers to finance her overpriced and foolishly purchased education. But apparently I do. I’m asking people out of their own charity to help me improve myself. They are under no obligation to do so, and I don’t really expect it to happen. Samantha is asking that the government change the terms of her loan because she made crappy decisions. Any loan forgivenness or interest rate reducation will be passed on to taxpayers. Even if it isn’t, it’s akin to telling me and everyone else who has stupidly paid for their education up front, or paid off their loans on time that we were idiots for having done so.

      Comment by Johnny Chimpo | 04/03/2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks! I keep my blog clean of profanity but I think it is terrible of Ms. Hillstrom to whine about choices she made.

    Comment by sassybug | 04/03/2009 | Reply

    • Completely understandable – I feel bad about resorting to profanity, particularly so excessively, but I feel like the frustration that things like this produce has to have an outlet somewhere, and better that I release it here then elsewhere. I admire your restraint 🙂

      Comment by Johnny Chimpo | 04/03/2009 | Reply

  3. Well that was cathartic indeed. Cheers!

    Comment by Kevin | 04/03/2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Kevin – to you too!

      Comment by Johnny Chimpo | 04/04/2009 | Reply

  4. She posted an update. Calm down. Also, stop swearing. I don’t want to donate money to someone that tells people to fuck off. Good luck to you. http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2009/04/03/student-loans-a-national-shame/

    Comment by Margaret | 04/04/2009 | Reply

  5. […] blog post the other day. Find Hillstrom’s initial post here, and my initial rant here. WARNING: Gratuitous […]

    Pingback by Samantha Hillstrom, Part 2 (Now with less swearing!) « Retake Education | 04/04/2009 | Reply

  6. Johnny, I couldn’t agree with you more. Well said. The truth hurts sometimes.

    Comment by WriterX | 04/23/2009 | Reply

  7. Well said. I agree 100%. Why would anyone in their right mind borrow so much money to go to Marymount Manhattan College which costs about $22K in tuition per year.

    The sense of entitlement of this generation is truely astounding to me. There was a 24-year old lady who worked in my department and she owed about $160K from Brown — unbelievable!

    I went to UC Berkeley (California) and it cost about $1,000 per year when I went (1987-1991). I could have gone to Stanford or Rice which cost over $20K at the time but what would be the point of me paying so much in debt for years & years? Something is wrong with this narcissistic culture.

    Comment by Sid | 04/25/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

