Retake Education

Help Save Our Educational System

Steele vs. Rush Update

Well, apparently Michael Steele has apologized to Rush for his earlier comments.

“My intent was not to go after Rush – I have enormous respect for Rush Limbaugh,” Steele said in a telephone interview. “I was maybe a little bit inarticulate. … There was no attempt on my part to diminish his voice or his leadership.”

“I went back at that tape and I realized words that I said weren’t what I was thinking,” Steele said. “It was one of those things where I thinking I was saying one thing, and it came out differently. What I was trying to say was a lot of people … want to make Rush the scapegoat, the bogeyman, and he’s not.”

“I’m not going to engage these guys and sit back and provide them the popcorn for a fight between me and Rush Limbaugh,” Steele added. “No such thing is going to happen. … I wasn’t trying to slam him or anything.”

Which is what he had to do. In retrospect it was a foolish thing to do in the first place, but I give him credit for responding as quickly as he did to a rapidly snowballing problem and manning up.

And he alludes to a point that Ace has been making all day, that the biggest problem here was that the media was going to jump all over this. So good for him that he’s apologized so quickly, hopefully it’ll blow over quickly, and hopefully some of us on the right (myself definitely included) will be able to cut Steele some slack as he goes through some growing pains.

03/03/2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

